The Little Things Really DO Add Up

 

A week and half ago I returned from teaching our third annual retreat in Mexico. I’m still feeling the benefits! One of the things that I’ve taken from the retreat, was a reminder about WRITING DOWN INTENTIONS and KEEPING a GRATITUDE list. Mindy, the owner of the retreat center, Villa Ananda, mentioned in our closing circle how her mother suggested to her this past year that she write down each morning her intention for the day, and write down a list of things she was grateful for at the end of the day. Right away, it reminded me of my old 12 Step days when my sponsor would have my write a gratitude list at the end of each day! I returned to Colorado a little over a week ago, and one of the first things I did was buy a simple, small little notebook that fits easily in my purse, to write in each day. A notebook specifically for my INTENTION for the day, and a little list of GRATITUDE  at the end of the day. In the past, I’ve journaled, written blogs, etc., and often have felt the pressure to keep it up and make it something really “different” and “profound”! In just this short week, I’ve found a lot of pleasure and perspective in keeping this small notebook. It starts my day off on the right foot, gets me focused, allows me to write a little (which I love doing) and reminds me at the end of the day of what really matters.

To any and all that read this, I suggest purchasing a little INTENTION and GRATITUDE notebook. Mine only cost $1.99 at the local gas station, and has been a simple, effective little practice this week. A practice that I haven’t had in my life for a number of years, but one that has proven to be great. Sometimes its the little things, like a notebook, 5 minutes of breathing or meditation that can make for great changes in our daily life and overall happiness.

Thanks for reading, subscribing and forwarding this blog if you feel so inclined.

Here’s a picture that Lara from the Mexico retreat sent to me. Simple, yet inspiring.

RasaOm Symbol

 

Have a good rest of your Monday and start to your week……if you’re a Southern California resident, please join me for class when I’m there next week at Exhale, Venice on Wednesday, March 27th at 5:30 pm. If you live in CO, please come visit us for a class at First Ray Yoga near Vail, and if you live in another state, please visit my website and “Jamie’s travel schedule” page to see when I’ll be teaching in your area next. See you soon here or there. Now, go out and get yourself a little notebook!

Leave a Reply

