Going Back in Time

 

In This BLOG:

Up Coming Yoga Teaching Events

BLOG: Going Back in Time

Up Coming Yoga Teaching Events

Please mark your calendars and spread the word – here is a listing of a few of my teaching events in the next few months:

October: Rasa Yoga CenterYoga Mittra T.T, Exhale, Venice

November: East Meets West CenterEaston Yoga

January: Yoga Shala

March: Retreat in Mexico at Villa Ananda

*On my website, you can always see my “schedule” page for dates, events and registration information.

Going Back in Time

Many years ago my yoga teacher, Max Strom, hosted a retreat wth Georg Feuerstein at Zaca Lake, CA. I had attended a couple of Max’s retreats already and loved them. I loved this one too, but looking back, didn’t appreciate it as much as I would now. If you don’t know, Georg is considered to be one of our time’s most notable scholars of yoga philosophy and history. And, he passed away on August 25th. I first read of his passing on Facebook (oh, how times have changed) because his wife posted a sweet paragraph about him. I was catching up on Facbeook posts as we waited out tropical storm Isaac on the boat. Immediately, “likes” and “comments” were circulating on line. I thought back to my time spent on this particular retreat with Georg. At the time, most of my yoga interest was still about the physical practice. I wasn’t yet interested in much philosophy, meditation or history of yoga.

I wish I could participate in that retreat over again. I would absorb so much more! I do feel lucky though to have spent just a drop of time with Georg. Enough time for him to influence me. Enough time for me to know that there was a whole world and view of yoga out there that in due time, I would learn more about. So, if you haven’t already, check out some of Georg’s writing and books. We have a lot to learn from him. (One of my most useful/practical books is his book, “The Yoga Tradition”.)

Kite Surfers the day before tropical storm Isaac came through Ft. Lauderdale

Looking at a little wind from inside BALANCE. Couldn’t leave the boat for three days b/c of wind and rain, but besides that, all was good. We collected a lot of water for our tanks!

*Thanks for reading. If someone you know will enjoy this blog, please pass it on.

On our website, you can find downloadable audio classes and video. If you’d like to purchase one in hard copy, send us an e-mail with your mailing address. My live classes are also available at www.yogavibes.com.

info@firstrayyoga.com to be added to my e-mail list

www.twitter.com/firstrayyoga

www.facebook.com/firstrayyoga AND www.facebook.com/yogaforcruisers

Leave a Reply

