Maybe in my next life I’ll be……..

IN THIS BLOG:

Yoga Teaching schedule next week in California and Oklahoma

Blog: Maybe in my next life I’ll be……..

TEACHING IN ARCATA CALIFORNIA this coming Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday at Om Shala Yoga. Please visit their site at www.omshalyoga.com for all the details and to register. Also, next weekend, August 17th, 18th and 19th I’ll be teaching at The Canebrake in Oklahoma. For all the information please visit www.thecanebrake.com – spread the word and I hope to see you soon!

MAYBE IN MY NEXT LIFE I’LL BE……..

This past weekend we were anchored a few miles away, east of Dinner Key, in Key Biscayne, Florida. We were there a few nights and decided to ship out last Sunday. The night before, two boats came in and anchored in the late afternoon. They were from Denmark.

We got up early before the wind picked up and before power boaters came to the area for the day. I needed to do a little project up the mast. I needed to be at the top of the mast, so we wanted the wind and water to be as calm as possible. Tobin hoisted me up – that is where these pictures are from.

Its a good view from up there. Our mast is only 62’ off the water, but if felt much higher while up there. My stomach flipped and I was a little shaky. Breathing definitely helped to ease my nerves.

After the mast project we prepared to pull up anchor. Tobin was on the bow and I was at the helm (driving). Half way through the process he stopped and motioned for me to come up on the bow. He pointed to what our anchor chain was wrapped around. This huge, 6 pointed star was made out of concrete. How our chain got wrapped around this thing I have no idea. It was at least 3’ by 3’.

Tobin spent a good amount of time trying to unwrap it, but he couldn’t quite get it. During this process, new neighbor number one came over to talk to us about our boat (since seeing the for sale sign). We showed them what was going on with our anchor. They said they’d ask our new neighbor, boat number two, if he’d dive on it. They said he was always looking for an excuse to go diving. Anyway, about an hour later our diver neighbor came over in his dinghy. He was about 65, completely tan, with strongly visible muscles and tattoos to accent them. My first thought was, “Wow, he’s tough”. Tobin and I looked at each other thinking, if anyone can get our chain off this thing, he can. He came up out of the water and began to tell us a story about when he was in the Amazon, and how his anchor chain had been wrapped around something four times that size. He told us about only having an inch of visiblility to dive, and how he had piranhas swimming around him the entire time. Then I thought, “In my next life, I’d like to come back this tough”.

The truth is, I’d like to be a lot of things that I’m not. Its great to try new things, explore, investigate and stay really open minded. Its equally as beneficial to know ourselves, accept ourselves and be true to who we are. So, as much as I’d like to think of myself as a fearless, bad ###, world traveler and explorer, I’m not. At least not yet. I’ll stick with the feeling of accomplishment for going to the top of the mast and just plain living on a sailboat. Thats enough for me right now. Maybe in my next lifetime……..

*Thanks for reading. If someone you know will enjoy this blog, please pass it on.

On our website, you can find downloadable audio classes and video. If you’d like to purchase one in hard copy, send us an e-mail with your mailing address. My live classes are also available at www.yogavibes.com.

Info@firstrayyoga.com to be added to my e-mail list

www.facebook.com/firstrayyoga AND www.facebook.com/yogaforcruisers

http://www.twitter.com/firstrayyoga

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

