Understandable Stereotypes

In This BLOG:

Jamie’s up coming teaching at East Meets West Center, Vienna, VA

Understandable Stereotypes

Then and Now pics

Teaching in Vienna, VA

In a couple of weeks, Saturday, May 19th and Sunday, May 20th, I’ll be teaching four workshops at East Meets West Center in Vienna, VA. This studio has quickly become one of my favorite places to teach. The environment and students have been really nice to work with and be a part of. I’ll be teaching the following four workshops. For the full description , pricing and times, please visit East Meets West’s site at http://www.eastmeetswestcenter.com, workshops page. I hope to see some of you there!

Saturday, May 19th: Standing Pose Break Down, 1 – 3 pm. AND Hands on Adjustments, 3:30 – 6 pm.

Sunday, May 20th: Seeing Bodies, 12 – 2:30 pm. AND Clear and Simple Verbal Cues, 3:30 – 6 pm.

Understandable Stereotypes

It was nearly two years ago this coming week that we first arrived in Maine, to our first boat together, that we named TRUST. Moving on to a boat was a leap of faith, so we felt that the name suited the occasion! We had packed our things and headed out from Colorado to our new home (the boat). I had never seen the boat, but was assured by Tobin that it was great. I trusted him. I didn’t know one boat from the next two years ago. I’ve learned a lot in 730 days. And, I still have a lot to learn! It was a boat that needed some work, but all cosmetic. So, we arrived there ready to work and get under way, to head south as soon as possible. It was a great little boat, but after a few months on TRUST, Tobin was already looking on line at other boats. I didn’t take him seriously, until I realized he was very seriously thinking of a different boat for us. We still look back on TRUST and say, “what a great boat”. It was a fantastic boat for one person, maybe two. It had been around the world twice, and was seaworthy and strong. But definitely too small for the both of us with pets! So, by chance, the boat that Tobin had his eye on next was right in our cruising path, for sale in Deltaville, VA. We arrived, and long story short, soon became the proud owners of the boat we are now on, which we re named BALANCE. We spent time last year in Deltaville getting BALANCE ready to leave and TRUST ready to stay in a boat yard with a for sale sign on her. We knew the lesson about never owning two boats at a time, but decided to break the rules. TRUST did sell last summer as our good fortune would have it! We left Deltaville, VA on BALANCE, and she’s been our home ever since.

This week is the first time that I have ever been on the boat by myself. So, please indulge me with this blog. This time alone has made me think more and reflect more! One of the things I’ve been doing with Tobin gone has been catching up on paperwork, computer work, and sorting through old files and photos, so I’m feeling a little nostalgic and touched by the past two years! Anyway, I usually am the one that leaves, travels to go teach, and leaves Tobin, the pets and the boat in an anchorage.  This week, he’s the one gone. Its good for both of us, but strange! I’m the type of person that enjoys being alone and doing my own thing, but being on the boat without him brings up other issues. Stereotypical male/female issues. There are things that Tobin takes care of or thinks about that I don’t. There are also things that I take care of when I’m here that he doesn’t. Its not because we’re living in the dark ages where “men do this” and “women to that”, but because there are certain things that come naturally to both of us, and also certain things that each of us are better at physically and mentally. For instance, a couple of months ago, our windlass was broken (its basically the motor that reels in our anchor chain and anchor). There is no way, no matter how hard I could have tried, that I would have been able to pull the anchor and chain up on to the boat. But, Tobin could. So, lucky for me, he got that job. On my end, I’m smaller and more flexible than he is, so when it came to cleaning the bilge and the inner compartments of the boat after being in Annapolis for the winter, I was lucky enough to have the job of wriggling my way under and behind the cabinets and floor to vacuum, wipe down and clean the insides. Its just how things pan out. Yes, like anyone that does more of the household duties, I get sick of doing the dishes, the laundry and cleaning. But, would I trade that for welding together a new dodger (cover over the helm/cockpit) or  building out an office area inside the boat? Hm…I think not.

Now, while Tobin is gone, I don’t have any huge manual labor projects planned, just the usual stuff and preparing for my up coming teaching engagements.  And, I’m not trying to sail or take any long excursion myself. But, I do find myself much more aware of things. More than usual. I’m triple checking the dinghy painter at night, checking the batteries and gauges more and lifting up one or two floor boards a day to make sure there isn’t any water in the bilge. Its good for me. Its good for me to not sleep as soundly as I usually do (I’m a scary sound sleeper), and wake up when I hear thunder in the distance, get up and check the anchor, the hatches, etc. It feels good to be responsible for the boat by myself. And I know, that if we did get more wind or current than predicted, I do know what to do and how to do it.

I’ve never been so aware of male/female roles as I have been living on a sailboat. There are just some things that are easier for each sex. I try my best and have become stronger to help on board, but have also learned to modify things and grasp the reality that I’m not as strong as Tobin or have the experience with some things that he does! For instance, I have filled our water jugs on shore a few times while he’s been gone and lugged them out to the boat, hoisted them to the deck and filled the tanks. BUT, I learned my lesson one night in Annapolis as to HOW I needed to do this. Instead of filling the water jugs all the way to full, I fill them to about 3/4. To their fullest capacity I can’t physically hoist them on to the deck, but at 3/4 I can fairly easily. How did I learn this lessen? I admit, I learned the hard way. I had filled the jugs to full, was lifting one at a time on to the deck, and it was too heavy. I didn’t quite get the jug up over the toe rail, so it bounced off, and instinctually I didn’t want to drop it in the water, so I held on to it as I  fell out of the dinghy in to the water, fully clothed. Never again. Good thing it was late summer and the water was still warm. It took me a while to admit this to anyone besides the pets who witnessed the whole thing. When Tobin fills jugs, he fills them completely full and carries on a normal conversation as he gracefully lifts them up on to the boat. Yep, I’m a girl and not as strong. So, I fill the jugs 3/4. Once again, if I have the choice, yes, I would rather do the dishes and the laundry instead of hoist water jugs or fix the diesel engine. I’ll gladly take the female chores thank you! And, lucky for me, Tobin does like to cook and he’s good at it!

So for you women out there that want to weld a dodger, more power to you! I admire that. And, for those of you men that want to do the dishes, feel free. But, if you’re on my boat, I hope you have strength, carpentry skills and welding skills, too!

Then and Now pics

First boat, TRUST, before we worked on her and before her name change

Jeep from Colorado – we had thought of everything we needed to bring….including a composting toilet for TRUST

TRUST after her makeover in Newport, RI – looking much better!

BALANCE on the hard in Deltaville, VA – bare boned and needing owners

BALANCE here in Lake Worth, FL a couple of weeks ago after her paint job  – which Tobin did all himself!

 

Leave a Reply

