The Attachment of a Yoga Teacher

IN THIS BLOG:

“The attachment of a Yoga Teacher” – some thoughts I had from the plane

Yoga Teaching Schedule

Up – Date on Boat’s status and our new cruising plan

For all of the years that I taught yoga consistently in Los Angeles, class after class, week after week, I never realized how attached I was to my students. I now travel and teach, and the piece about this lifestyle that has surprised me the most, has been how much I miss my students. Often I’ll receive an e-mail from a student and it will begin something like this, “Hi Jamie, I’m sure you don’t remember me, but I used to take your class….” The first thing I always think is “Of course I remember you. Why would you think I don’t”? I don’t know if its like this for other teachers, but in my experience, students have no idea how much I think of them outside of the yoga room. I can’t claim that I’m the best at having everyone’s names rolling off the tip of my tongue (!), but chances are, I remember you and have thought about you since seeing you last. Wether that was last week or three years ago.

As a teacher, I’m in this interesting position of witnessing intimate pieces of a lot of people’s lives. I not only can tell when students  are happy or depressed, they often tell me so or let me know about other important pieces of their life. My students are who I’ve spent the most time around, and I often wonder how you all are doing. I wonder how so and so is after losing a parent, a sibling or a child. I wonder how so and so is doing after getting their master’s degree or healing from a strained hamstring. People who are close to me tease me about having a short term memory. But, instead of having a great memory I have an intensely strong memory for who’s been in one of my classes, and especially the details of their body. I may not always remember someone’s name right away, but strangely, I’ll remember other details  like which one of their feet pronated more or which shoulder lives a little hiked up. These are the things that my memory holds on to like a snap shot. Its one of the components about being a yoga teacher that makes me feel close to people.

So, for all you students out there, wether you like it or not, you’re thought of more than you realize and cared about more than you may think. Not just about your hiked up shoulder, but you!

YOGA TEACHING SCHEDULE

Los Angeles: Exhale, Center for Sacred Movement: http://www.exhalespa.com – Friday, March 23rd, 9 – 10:30 am and Sunday, March 25th, 10:30 – 12 pm level 2/3 yoga classes

March 31st and April 1st: East Meets West Center, Vienna, VA – http://www.eastmeetswestcenter.com – workshops, classes and privates. Please visit the East Meets West site for all of the workshop info and to sign up.

Coming soon: On our websites, http://www.firstrayyoga.com and http://www.yogaforcruisers.com, we’ll have downloadable classes, workshops and tutorials. Tobin, in his free time from painting the boat(!) is turning our sites in to e-commerce sites. In the last few months I’ve been filming more, wherever I go, Oregon, Mexico, etc. and we’ll have those yoga practices available for download soon. In the coming months and years I’ll be filming from various locations, practices, workshops and tutorials from wherever we are on the boat and from where my teaching schedule takes me. Stay tuned and I’ll let you know when the new site is up and running!

Boat Status

I’ll have more pics of BALANCE next week when I return to the boat from teaching in L.A. So far, Tobin has finished painting the boat, he just finished doing the bottom paint and is now starting on the boot stripe (along the water line). She’s coming along! We’re hoping after all this work he’ll still be able to use his arms and shoulders! With some other engine projects and pieces to finish up on balance, it looks like we’ll be out of the boat yard in about two weeks. From there, we’ll be headed south toward either Ft. Lauderdale or Miami, our jumping off point to the Bahamas. Looking to be in the Bahamas in mid to late April. YAY!

To be added to my e-mail list, please send an e-mail to info@firstrayyoga.com and specify which region of the country you live in and would like information about.

Thank you!

www.firstrayyoga.com/www.yogaforcruisers.com

www.facebook.com/jamieelmeryoga

www.facebook.com/yogaforcruisers

www.twitter.com/firstrayyoga

3 thoughts on “The Attachment of a Yoga Teacher

  1. Bill

    Jamie,
    So glad you’re (briefly!) in L.A. – unhappy that I might miss you again. ( I’ve had the flu for days, but hope to be better in time for the Sunday class). Always a pleasure to hear your news, and rewarding to hear your thoughts…especially that, as one of your students, you might be thinking of me. If I don’t see you, have a great trip here and back – and smooth sailing to the Bahamas!
    Bill

    Reply
  2. Judy Minot

    Jamie,
    The way you look at people when they speak and really listen has made a strong impression on me. I’m not surprised you remember students, since you pay attention to them. It’s unusual to have someone actually address you fully when you speak, therefore I’m not surprised that your students aren’t used to being remembered.

    PS that’s a big boat to clean and paint!

    Reply
  3. Diana

    Hi Jamie,
    You are missed a lot and thought of too, believe me. Thanks for writing this blog. It gives me the chance to sail around the country with you. xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

