Constant Change and Healthy Attachment

Change is the constant they say. And, as change would have it, our plans and life have changed again! We’re headed south on Wednesday of this coming week. First stop, Delatville, VA, then making our way to Jacksonville, FL. After arriving in Annapolis, MD back in July, it took a couple of weeks for the reality to sink in…..the reality that we were going to be in one place for a while. That fact was sad to me at first. For the prior year and a half, we had been on the move and not in one place for more than a few months. Most places we’d traveled to on the boat we only stayed at for a day, or at the most, a couple of weeks. The idea at the time, of staying here in Annapolis for months, was odd. We were in a rythm and routine of being in new places often, and seeing new places nearly every day. So now, the months have passed, and we’ve been in Annapolis for over six months and its time to head out. Its interesting how being in one place for an extended amount of time made me sad months ago. Now, I’m sad to be leaving this place. Don’t get me wrong, excited to be moving on, too, but Annapolis has also become a new home. A home I’ll miss. We’ve met some great new friends, and found our routine here. I know the women at the laundromat, I have my grocery store, my yoga studio (www.pranastudio.com) and BWI has become my home airport. I have definitely become attached. And, I think its a healthy attachemnt. I’ve connected with people, and I’ll miss them. Now, after this time of settling in, its time to be on the move again. New places to come for us on BALANCE. Thanks for being a great place for us, Annapolis.

Yoga Teaching News and Up Coming Schedule

This weekend I’m teaching two workshops at East Meets West Center in Vienna, VA(www.eastmeetswestcenter.com) – today was “Protect and Heal Your Back”, tomorrow is “Cueing, Sequencing and Adjustments for Back Care”. Hope to see some of you there.

Next month, retreat in Mexico at Villa Ananda Retreat Center – www.villaananda.com – there are a few spots left – please visit www.rasayogacenter.com for all of the info and to register. Dates are February 19th – 25th. We had an absolutely great time last year. I look forward to our time there again! If you have any questions about the retreat, please don’t hesitate to e-mail me at jamie@firstrayyoga.com

New downloadable yoga classes available at www.yogavibes.com – from the home page search for Jamie Elmer and you’ll be able to watch. These two recent classes were filmed the last time I was teaching in Los Angeles at Exhale, Center for Sacred Movement in Venice.

New youtube interview recorded at Rasa Yoga Center, OR over New Years http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_ciQMNHewI&feature=youtube_gdata_player

www.firstrayyoga.com

www.yogaforcruisers.com

www.facebook.com/jamieelmeryoga

Please “like” www.facebook.com/yogaforcruisers – yoga for boaters!

1 thought on “Constant Change and Healthy Attachment

  1. Karen Hansen

    Very touching post, Jamie. I’m sure this week will be bittersweet for you. As many times as I moved from ages 18-55, it’s nothing compared to what you do on a boat. Your sense of adventure and resilience are inspiring!

    Reply

Leave a comment